Adapting custom Marketing Image

The forums have been a great help so far!  

I contracted with an illustrator to provide a cover, spine, and back cover for my book.  He provided all of these and we collaborated to produce a great design.  

As a result I have the front cover in 415 x 642 (96dpi) in jpg file.  This is for ebook cover and I know I only need the front cover..

But I do need the image to be 612 x 792 (72dpi).   I have little experience with AdobePS but tried to contort image to desired size.  I couldn't manipulate the image without distorting it drastically.  

I also know that that for the print book (which i will do later) you need a much larger pixel size.   What should i do about adapting the image for my ebook.   Should i be contacting the artist---who is incredibly difficult to deal with???   Or is there an easy way to change image without distortion (notice hopeful toneSmiley Happy

Comments

• Just KevinJust Kevin Lulu Genius Lulu Genius

I contracted with an illustrator to provide a cover, spine, and back cover for my book.  He provided all of these and we collaborated to produce a great design.

It is an attractive cover, but I would have moved the text at the top down a bit.

As a result I have the front cover in 415 x 642 (96dpi) in jpg file.

The DPI is too low. I needs to be 300. 56 to 156 DPI is recomended for images within epubs. For the Marketing Image (Cover) I always use 300 DPI and it works in the Wizard with no problems.

This is for ebook cover and I know I only need the front cover..

Indeed. Do not add it to the page file also though.

But I do need the image to be 612 x 792 (72dpi).   I have little experience with AdobePS but tried to contort image to desired size.  I couldn't manipulate the image without distorting it drastically.