Converting books to interactive apps?

MarioMario ReaderCalifornia Reader
Hi folks!

My friend and I have many years experience developing mobile apps, but we wanted to work on a kids book project and have difficulty finding anyone who's not already signed with an exclusivity clause with a publisher, so we thought "Hey, we should ask the self-publishing community!"

We won't charge anything, we'll do a project for free, we're just looking for a way to gain some experience with the process while working with passionate people in the kid's book space. We've worked in the tech industry for like 20 years and we're definitely looking for something more creative.

We're in San Diego, California but there's no reason this couldn't be done via email, phone and FaceTime or Google Hangouts!

We can publish to iOS, Android, Kindle Fire, FireTV, Windows and Mac

Thanks, 
Mario and Bob

Comments

• Just KevinJust Kevin Lulu Genius Lulu Genius
  • MarioMario Reader California Reader
    edited September 2018
    For tablets like the Kindle Fire HD, ipads, iphones, etc., we can, for example, have characters on-screen that will glow until you click on them. Once the character is clicked, more things happen; dialogue or the character will walk over to another location on-screen and the story will continue. We can handle tapping, dragging, pinch-to-zoom, etc. Audio, music, particle effects, etc!

We have coloring book pages that allow kids to select and grab colors from a palette and start drawing away.

On the AppleTV/FireTV we're limited to their remote controller, i.e. directional button and the select button, but it's still pretty fun to see the book up on-screen on the television. :)

Sky's the limit, pretty much up to the author/illustrator. We're not doing anything super advanced, like augmented reality/ virtual reality.

Hope that answers your question!

-Mario