Rights and ownership of book

Hi Guys, Im new to Lulu and wanted to ask, if Lulu provides me an ISBN number, does that mean they own my book? I understand that they would be the publisher but ultimatley do they own my work?

What are the pros and cons of having lulu as my publisher?

Comments

• SBenta wrote:

Hi Guys, Im new to Lulu and wanted to ask, if Lulu provides me an ISBN number, does that mean they own my book? I understand that they would be the publisher but ultimatley do they own my work?

What are the pros and cons of having lulu as my publisher?

The copyright to the book remains with you.

Even in traditional publishing, the author owns their book unless a specific arrangement has been made otherwise, such as in a work for hire contract.

Would it be better to let lulu provide me an ISBN or should I get one elsewhere? What are the pros and cons with this?
  • Go with the free Lulu ISBN. If you have your own ISBN (which you have to pay for)

you can be listed as the publisher. If you use the Lulu ISBN then Lulu will be listed

as the publisher. For the amount of books that self published authors can realistically

hope to sell it is not going to make much difference. If you were planning a huge

publishing empire then I would say get your own ISBN.

• This is from Lulu's Knowledge Base (the underlining I mine).

By assigning your own ISBN to your title you are agreeing to the terms below:

1. By assigning your ISBN, you acknowledge that you have reviewed and agree to the U.S. ISBN Agency terms and conditions listed below
    2. An ISBN will be assigned to this title and the publisher name that you have provided will be listed as the publisher in all bibliographic feeds.
    3. Lulu will function as an agent providing distribution services.
    4. You will be responsible for any orders you place or cause to be placed with retailers for this title.