Does Disclaimers provide sufficient legal protection

Dear Publishing Experts,

I am writing a book related to the finance industry which will have tips etc... However, I am not a finance expert or work in the financial industry so I state that I am not a professional, financial adviser etc.. in my disclaimer and is wondering if this provides legal protection.

As to the decription in which it is categorised, can it be catergorised as "fiction", educational etc... instead of "finance and economics".

Looking to you all for advice.

Marcus

Comments

• You can put your book into any category you like but would you buy a

a financial tips book which is listed in the fiction category?

• marcusxman wrote:

Dear Publishing Experts,

I am writing a book related to the finance industry which will have tips etc... However, I am not a finance expert or work in the financial industry so I state that I am not a professional, financial adviser etc.. in my disclaimer and is wondering if this provides legal protection.

As to the decription in which it is categorised, can it be catergorised as "fiction", educational etc... instead of "finance and economics".

Looking to you all for advice.

Marcus

I would add to what Dan said with >> considering what you have posted here, Marcus, why on earth are you publishing such a book?! It's a bit like "I am not a surgeon, but can I remove your brain?" (And it is 'do', not 'does').   Smiley Frustrated

• I have to second Kevin's question. Why would anyone buy a book from someone who says up front that they have no expertise or experience in the subject?

We're just some guys out BSing over the fence with no intention of any of us acting on any of this, clear?