Possible copyright infringement

I want to use a photo on the cover of my print book as it's a biography.  If I use software to convert an existing photo to a drawing, is that still potentially a copyright infringement?

Granjon

Comments

• If you change it enough so that it's not recognizable you should be fine. Add a different background, remove some hair, change colour of clothing, remove mustache, flip, make him/her thinner, change size of eyebrows. You could use it as a frame and create your own image. Give credit to original image creator.

However, there might be a similar image as creative commons or public domain.

A citizen of the world.

• Thanks very much - very useful.

But what does the final line mean?

"However, there might be a similar image as creative commons or public domain."

(I am very new at all this.)

• If it's a biography of someone in the 18th century, say, they probably have paintings or images of him/her that are ok for people to use in a  creative way.

Google public domain and your subject's name. Same search with Creative Commons.

A citizen of the world.

• There is site called http://www.publicdomainpictures.net where photographers give permission to use their photos. There is one woman there that takes photos from the library of congress and retouces them. I believe these might be usable to you as well. If you can find what you are looking for. 

• Just KevinJust Kevin Lulu Genius

Em_Press wrote:

If you change it enough so that it's not recognizable you should be fine. Add a different background, remove some hair, change colour of clothing, remove mustache, flip, make him/her thinner, change size of eyebrows. You could use it as a frame and create your own image. Give credit to original image creator.

However, there might be a similar image as creative commons or public domain.