Dedication page and Copyright page

I am very new to this and am currently setting up my very first children's book to publish to print.  I'm nearly there but just realised there's nothing that says whether you need to ensure you have one or two blank pages at the beginning of your book (in the Interior) to make as a dedication page and/or the copyright page.  I did download the ISBN but this is as a pdf file and now I'm really stumped.  Can someone help guide me through this?

Comments

• wildwindwildwind Publisher

Your book title needs to be on the first page and the copyright notice on the second page; you don't need any blank pages at the start of the book.

Go to My Projects and highlight and copy the ISBN number of your book then go back to the source file of your book (Word, etc) and paste the ISBN on the second page. Add your dedication wherever you want it e.g. third page, and then convert your Word document to PDF (you can use DoPDF which is free) and upload it. Alternatively, upload the Word document to Lulu and have Lulu convert your file to a PDF and follow through to the end, at which stage you can order your proof copy to check that your book is as you want it to be.

• potetjppotetjp Professor

Although many will start their book at (5) below, in my opinion, a good book should have the following characteristics.

page 1) blank

page 2) blank

page 3) title

page 4) blank or with a dedication

page 5) full title (author's name, title, (date)) [required}

page 6) copyright page + ISBN number [required]

page 7) beginning of text [printed numbering starting at this page or page 8]

last page) blank |required]

• potetjp wrote:

Although many will start their book at (5) below, in my opinion, a good book should have the following characteristics.

page 1) blank

page 2) blank

page 3) title

page 4) blank or with a dedication

page 5) full title (author's name, title, (date)) [required}

page 6) copyright page + ISBN number [required]