Print Book Hand-Made Full Covers: What size for what book size?

Hello,

I am making another printed book. The sizes I use are Pocketbook (4.25 x 6.875) and A5 (5.83 x 8.26).

This is my first attempt at making a full, hand-made cover by myself. I wanted to draw out my cover, color it, and ... maybe see if it would work.

Am I supposed to draw it all out as a full cover (for example, draw out my back cover on the left side of the paper, and draw out my front cover on the right)? And what do I do about the spine of the book? Should I use my own hand-drawn spine containing the book name and my name, or do I use the fonts on the Lulu cover designer?

I noticed that when I put pictures in my books, on the interior of the book, they have to be scanned at 300dpi. When I finish my cover, do I scan it with the same 300dpi?

Also, right now I'm in the process of drawing out the cover. I haven't finished it yet, but I wanted to be sure I was making it the right size. So...

Are there specific sizes I am supposed to make my hand-made (hand-drawn) book covers for the print book sizes of 'Pocketbook' and 'A5'?

I was just drawing it on a sketchpad here at home, and was going to finish it up and scan it. Well, I also know it would be best to put it in PDF format.

Is there anything else I need to know about this? Are there any other threads/posts here on Lulu that I may need to read? I researched a little bit here at Lulu, but didn't find what I was needing to know.

I hope my message isn't confusing to anyone. I can explain more if needed. I'm sorry for asking so many questions.

Thank you,

Alex

Comments