Copyright and Business License Needed for a Public Domain Book in US?

Hello all,

I'm new to selling on Lulu and new to these forums. Does anyone know if:

1) A copyright is needed in order to sell a public domain book? Also do I need to have the copyright information printed within the book?

2) In the US, at what point would I need a business license to sell books? Is there a profit cap? How does this work?

Thank you very much for any help with these!

Comments

• Hello all,

1) A copyright is needed in order to sell a public domain book?

I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong, but I don't think Lulu now allows them because 100s of people were turning the same thing in to books, because it's easy. Amazon once had a massive purge deleting them. The idea behind Public Domain is that it's not copyrighted at source, but it is possible to copyright the actual book and cover (as long as you did create the latter) because you created that, if not the whole contents.

Also do I need to have the copyright information printed within the book?

Yes.

2) In the US, at what point would I need a business license to sell books? Is there a profit cap? How does this work?

The same the world over I would suspect. It's up to you. There's no need to get a business licence, just declare earnings.

• Liam3 wrote:

Hello all,

1) A copyright is needed in order to sell a public domain book? Also do I need to have the copyright information printed within the book?

You do not need a copyright in order to sell a public domain book (you aren't required to have a copyright to sell any book, even one you wrote yourself).