Purchasing

Hi group,

Newbie here trying to buy a book from Lulu.com however even after I entered my credit card info in the purchasing page, it will not proceed unless I also enter my home address, phone number and other personally identifiable information that is NOT required for a financial transaction - I don;t want to join Lulu, I just want to buy a book - How can I do this without exposing myself to potential identity theft this way? I have no idea what security algorithms lulu.com uses or how good their security is, however anything is hackable and nobody in this day and age should provide this level of personal detail to an online database unless its absolutely necessary.

Comments

• Newbie here trying to buy a book from Lulu.com however even after I entered my credit card info in the purchasing page, it will not proceed unless I also enter my home address,

Well, it does need to know where to deliver to.

phone number

And a contact number if there's a problem with the order.

and other personally identifiable information that is NOT required for a financial transaction - I don;t want to join Lulu, I just want to buy a book - How can I do this without exposing myself to potential identity theft this way? I have no idea what security algorithms lulu.com uses or how good their security is, however anything is hackable and nobody in this day and age should provide this level of personal detail to an online database unless its absolutely necessary.

Well, if everyone took that attitude the $trillions sold on line each year would never happen. Identity theft is not as common as people assume and why would anyone hack Lulu when they could hack your bank? Or even ring you pretending to be your bank?