ISBN LULU's or buy my own? UK based

Hi,

complete newby here so please bear with me and I hope this is in the right section.

I've been writing my 'grand epic' for 7 years now and am close to having vol 1 finished. I've ordered a proof print copy and am waiting impatiently for it to arrive.

I have a question about ISBN.

I know that LULU will supply one free or you can buy your own.

I read that if you use a lulu ISBN  but aren't a US citizen you have to fill in the W8Ben form to avoid the 30% tax - understood.

So question 1, would buying ISBNs from the UK site avoid that?

Question 2, I can find little info about how to buy in the UK. I know that the UK site only sells them in blocks of 10, but I read that you have to supply full info about page numbers etc of the books. As I haven't got that far for most of the story (it's all written, but lots of proof reading and editing awaits the rest of it. I don't know yet even how many volumes to break it into.  So has anyone here bought UK ISBNs? How exactly does it work? Can you buy a block in advance and in some way register each volume with one of the numbers as it's finished? Or what?

Can anyone tell me how it works please?

Thank you.

Comments

• I use the free Lulu ISBNs. My understanding is that you only occur tax withholding for sales to the US. All other royalties are paid gross. After 2 days trying to understand the W8Ben form my brain started dribbling out of my ears and I was gibbering incoherently. It reminded me of UK tax forms 30 years ago. For the sake of my health and sanity I just take the hit for US tax. After all you have to pay tax somewhere and for me it does not make a major difference to my income.

Good luck with the epic! I spent 5 years writing before my wife persuaded me to publish and I love it. I hope you get as much enjoyment out it as I do.

• Thanks.

I already had to fill in one w8ben form this year so I know what you mean about it. It was horrible!