Accepted Solution

InDesign PDF / book template

I'm creating a book in InDesign. I wanted to create a single PDF for all the interior pages and a separate one for the cover(s).

A few questions:

1) Everywhere I look on the site, it seems there's an assumption that the authors will be uploading Word files. Can I just upload a completed InDesign PDF instead of going through Word? Will there be any formatting problems? (I have extensive experience in magazine and newspaper layouts, so I know about creating a print-ready PDF for most press formats, but I need to know if Lulu's press is signifcantly different.)

2) I've downloaded the template for a perfect-bound 6x9", but the template is a Word document. This wouldn't be such a problem - I could just turn it into a PDF or graphic file and bring it into InDesign, then use that as the template - but for the fact that the Word template does not include any guides for live area; it's basically looking at a blank page, with no indications of margins, so it's useless to me. Are there any alternate templates that I can use (.jpg, .eps), or can I find the measurements for page/live area/trim somewhere else on the site?

3) I've looked around the site but I cannot find any mention of a PROOF. This makes me nervous...I can't, and won't, send anything to the press without proofing it. Is there no 'electronic proof' option for Lulu?

Sorry for all the questions, but it seems my graphic design & layout career has hurt me rather than helped me in this Lulu venture...

Any and all help/advice is much appreciated.

Re: InDesign PDF / book template

One more question:

I've downloaded and installed the 'Lulu' printing options for Adobe Acrobat/Distiller; will this automatically generate a PDF acceptable for the Lulu printers, or are there any other considerations I must make regarding color, etc? (All I know so far is to leave images RGB.)
Editor
Belinda D'Alessandro