Author
Tasha1

Children's book, size, length, distribution options?

[ Edited ]

Hi

I am new to publishing and would like some advice. I want to create a children's book aimed at ages 3-6. The story has already  been written and I have been looking for an illustrator to do the illustrations and book layout. I would like to know the information that I should give to the illustrator to ensure the book is the right format and size for publishing on lulu and Amazon etc. so my questions are:

1) What is the best size for a colour children's book that will be distributed for sale? What size is the most marketable?

2) What page length is required? 24 pages? to get an ISBN?

3) Is there any special instructions that I should give my illustrator to assist with creating the formatted book? Font size etc?

4) What is a good price for a children's book?

5)I also want to make this book in to an ebook - will the size etc need to be different?

Any other advice would be much appreciated.

Tasha

Please use plain text.
Professor
Ken Anderson

Re: Children's book, size, length, distribution options?

My friend Maggie is an expert in Kids book. See this thread for details http://connect.lulu.com/t5/Print-Books/Children-s-Book-Layout-Services/m-p/79203/highlight/true#M677...
Please use plain text.
Author
Tasha1

Thanks but I can't afford her services at the moment so if there is anyone who has published a children's book that is willing to share information I would appreciate it.

Please use plain text.
Publisher
Michael Dobson

[ Edited ]

I am new to publishing and would like some advice.

Shoot. Advice is free around here.

I want to create a children's book aimed at ages 3-6. The story has already  been written and I have been looking for an illustrator to do the illustrations and book layout.

That's going to cost you. Are you ready to pay for that?