Search:
Go to Lulu Help pages
Reader
dowan

Newbie here with some questions

Hi Guys i am new here so be gentile on me :smileywink:

Just come across LULU today and it sounds wonderful, so just checking if I have understood everything:

1) lulu will charge you the unit price for producing the book plus 20% of the profit margin that you set, and that is for 1 book or 100 books, and there are no other costs?

2) What is the best paper etc options for children's books 16 pages in the format of 1 page text 1 page picture/ drawings? I want a price target of £4-£5 (all inclusive) max and this needs to be in color 

3) If I set up my LULU store page and customers buy directly from there how long before they get the book that they ordered? (roughly)

Please use plain text.
Professor
kevinlomas

Re: Newbie here with some questions

1 - All other costs are optional extras that are up to you if you want to take advantage of them or not. I say Extras because it can al work well even without them. I think if you order, say, 10 or more of the same books at the same time there is a small discount.

2 - You do not actually get much in the way of paper choices. It is all done by PC controlled machines so is kept as 'simple' as possible. Most people manage OK with what is avialable though.

3 - it is very variable even though it says 1 - 3 or something. It depends on the type of book, where that type is printed and where the buyer lives. Like most 'mail-order' Items, I allow up to 21 days. Do not forget that no one will know your books are here unless you tell them. That applies to even Amazon when you end up on there. You still need to be able to market your books yourself even though lulu have free and paid-for tools that can help you.

You need to spend a good long time reading all of the site and getting to know all the FAQs etc. Here is a start based on Number '2' >>   http://connect.lulu.com/t5/Product-Information/What-paper-will-my-book-have-for-the-cover-and-interi...