urgent - anyone heard or dealt with Book-Art Press to endorse your book?

I am new to the self-publishing world and have been approached by Book-Art Press llc who claim to have literary agents willing to endorse my book and get it on bookstore shelves.... and hopefully get in front of publishing companies. My cost is only to provide them with the books and they republish under their banner. Copyright stays with me. Currently the publisher is my own publishing name - not Lulu ** all my editorial and publishing services were done through Lulu however.  Question: Has anyone here had any dealings with Book-art press llc? or do you know of anyone who has entered into an agreement with them? Are they a scam?

Please help shed some light on this for me. thank you!

Comments

• In my opinion there are only two ways to go about this business. The first is to have a publishing contract with a traditional publishing house. The second is to be self published and do everything yourself. Anything else is just a distraction.

The way to get a book in front of a publishing company is to either send them a manuscript, or find an agent who will pitch your manuscript. You don't wait to be approached by someone who will endorse your book. By the time you have self published a book you have almost killed off its route to being traditionally published, although there are a few exceptions. I really can't see what you will gain from accepting this offer.

• Thank you 'wildwind' for taking the time to answer my question. It can be confusing and your answer is nice and simple! Thanks again! much appreciated :)
  • If this is the agency contacting you - http://www.bookartpress.us - I would be wary.
    From a few minutes on their site, it appears very thin on explanations of what exactly they do or what you might be paying for when you work with them.