I need help. Desperately.

So, I have never written a book before. I have written some short stories, maybe 1 to 15 paragraphs long, but I have never written a book. My short stories are historically accurate tales of real life trains, but all the stories are told from the train's perspective. I know I can't turn one of those stories into a book, but I still wanted to do something train related. So the idea I came up with is an apocalyptic sci-fi story, in which there are large dome communities all over the world after a nuclear war has caused a nuclear winter. To protect these domes from raiders, bandits, mutants, and natural disasters, the leaders decided to take the best train and weapon designs from history and created a fleet of massive armored trains to protect the domes. I love the sound of the idea, as it gives way to some very epic imagery of colossal trains battling monsters and other enemy trains, but I'm scared that it might seem too stupid for anyone to care. I want completely truthful answers. Do you think my book idea is too over the top? Do you think anyone will care enough?
Tagged:

Best Answers

Answers

• Skoob_ym said:

It's a workable idea, but I do see some issues. For example, what would it look like when trains "battle?" A train wreck destroys both trains -- consider the Russian movie "The Edge" for example, for a train on train "battle."

Trains are necessarily on tracks, and to permit access to your tracks requires deliberately connecting to the enemy's tracks.

Your trains might be metaphorical trains, such as large trucks with many connected trailers.

Or your story could be the tale of a group of post-apocalyptic survivors who use a train to escape a wasteland, rebuilding bridges and laying new track when the have to, so that they have hope of starting over in greener lands.