Requesting Permission to use certain works in an autobiography/memoir?

I'm writing an autobiography/memoir and am including lots of quotes, song lyrics, plots of theatre shows, as well as pictures from other books. I'm completely new to the author world and want to make sure I'm doing everything lawfully.  What are the rules for what you need to request permission to use, and how do you go about getting that permission? I'm including a bibliography for both illustrations/pictures and any work mentioned (theatre shows, CDs, etc.), hoping this will cover any potential copyright issues. I've been looking at some other autobiographies to help me figure it out and they didn't even have a bibliography page. Is that normal?

Thanks in advance,
Alex

Comments

• Skoob_ymSkoob_ym ✭✭✭
    Typically copyright citations can be found on the copyright page, which is the back side of the title page. Usually there will be something along these lines:

(your book)  (c) 2017 by (your name). All rights reserved.

"Mary Had a Little Lamb" (c) 1833 by Mother Goose. Used by permission.

"SomeSongIFound" (c) 2004 by SongWriter. Used by permission.

And so forth. Now, obviously, if you're using something "by permission" then you have to have obtained permission. You can do this by writing to the permissions department of the publisher. If they cannot directly grant permissions, they can at least point you to the correct place. There may be a fee, often on the order of $100, but as low as free and as high as whatever the traffic will bear.

If the work is in the public domain, then you do not need permission, but it is recommended to make certain that the author's name and the work (often with publication year) is mentioned, in the text, as a foot note, as an endnote, or perhaps on the copyright page. A bibliography is typical of non-fiction, but is not usually found in autobiographies.