Need help editing your manuscript? I am a professional editor. Ask me anything you like!

So you've completed your first draft, but now you're unsure what to do next. You need someone with industry experience to read your manuscript and offer corrections and insights into how your writing and story can be made stronger. You need an editor, but finding a good one that understands both your style and your story is nearly as difficult as the writing itself.

Most publishing companies have a nameless, faceless freelance staff of editors they keep locked away from the author, leaving you with virtually no contact with the person responsible for shaping your draft into a polished literary accomplishment. After years of editing for large, corporate publishers, I've grown tired of this model and want to work with my authors directly rather than being stifled by company policies that make it impossible to develop an accurate understanding of my authors and what they need or expect from the process. So who am I?

I am a professional writer and editor, having spent the last decade as a newspaper columnist and writer for literary journals, magazines, and publishing projects. Over the last four years, I have edited more than 350 books for a large self-publishing company and editing agencies in New York, Seattle, and Charleston, South Carolina. 

I do both copy editing and line editing (sometimes referred to as developmental editing), in which I work with authors to strengthen many areas of their writing, including characterization and character development, tone and style, grammar, formatting and page layout, dialogue, structure and plot flow, and more. I am a member of the American Copy Editors Society and have served as the editor for such authors as Laurie Lake White, Robert Blumenfeld, and Julie R. Dargis.