Use of Copyright on Copyright pages.

A recent posting in Promotions includes a PDF version of a book that seems to be constructed to write in. One would assume that the buyer would wish to print it out so they can write in it. But the entire Copyright from the printed versions of the book are also in the PDF. It's the normal Copyright > "... not be reproduced by any means ... without contacting ... for written permission. " I would have thought that something that needs to be printed out for use, would not have the same Copyright?

Comments

• I Am Not A Lawyer. This Is Not Advice.

In that sort of a case, "Fair Use" comes into play. If the purpose (i.e. utility) of an item involves its printing, then to print it for a single user's one-time use is a fair use.

What would be prohibited would be the reproduction of the work for resale or for distribution of any kind, including not-for-profit. Also, it is anticipated that the printed version is not to be retained beyond the single user's one-time use.

As a general principle, a seller implicitly offers a warranty of fitness (usefulness) on items sold, so to sell an item that is only useful if printed, and then to prohibit printing, would violate that implied warranty of fitness. https//www.law.cornell.edu/ucc/2/2-315

On the one hand, the author may have carelessly copied boiler-plate restrictions without thinking them through, or the author may have anticipated a single-use printing, and no others. It would certainly behoove the author to clarify his intent, because legal ambiguities are usually determined in the manner least advantageous to the person who wrote them, e.g. Grove v. Charbonneau Buick-Pontiac, Inc., 240 N.W.2d 853 (N.D. 1976)