Drop-Dead Date - Submission Suggestions

Hello LuLu Community,

I am new to LuLu and the self-publishing world. I have read many reviews and they all suggest that LuLu is the best way to go for my publishing needs. My question to the group, which I am sure you have answered a million times is this, I will be speaking at an event on the 5th of December, my illustrator is putting the finishing touches on my book.

Question: What is the drop-dead date to submit to my book to LuLu, printed and delivered to the conference site?

Note: I called a LuLu representative on Saturday who was unkind, and I was ready to go elsewhere but a friend suggested that I reach out to the community and one bad apple should not ruin my experience.

Thank you all so much and I look forward to hearing back soon. Any suggestions would be helpful. 

Cheers

JT

Comments

• There is no one specific answer. It all depends on where you live, where the printers are and what their schedules are like (probably busy at this time of year).

The usual process is you upload your book, order a print copy and if everything looks fine you release the book for sale at which point you order the books you need for your event. It would be too risky to order them at the proof stage just in case there is anything wrong with the book.

I would suggest that you err on the side of caution and upload your book as soon as possible, but no later than November 15.

• Hi JT,

First I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience on the phone, though I suspect you may not have reached us. We only have open phone lines Monday - Friday. And our support staff are generally very helpful and happy to answer questions. Particularly a timing question of this sort is one we hear often.