Quoting from the King James Bible

I’m a new author from Canada and just completed a science fiction novel. One of my characters is a Christian minister from a non-disclosed Christian sect. From time to time, this character quotes from the King James version of the bible. I used the kingjamesbibleonline.org website to get the exact words.

I know that I could use this bible version royalty free from the FAQ section, but I’m not clear on some matters.

Do I need to mention after each verse quoted that it is taken from the King James Bible?

Should I give credit in the novel that all bible quotes are taken from the King James Bible?

How do I keep my novel legal?

Comments

• SphinxCameronSphinxCameron Southern Escarpment Hill Country ✭✭

Here's a thought. Use end notes, or a preface.

In either case you can let the reader know the source of the biblical quotes.

With the end note scenario, each quote is numbered and referenced at the back of the work (i.e.: specific chapter and verse for each quote).

KomodoCracker wrote:

I’m a new author from Canada and just completed a science fiction novel. One of my characters is a Christian minister from a non-disclosed Christian sect. From time to time, this character quotes from the King James version of the bible. I used the kingjamesbibleonline.org website to get the exact words.

I know that I could use this bible version royalty free from the FAQ section, but I’m not clear on some matters.

Do I need to mention after each verse quoted that it is taken from the King James Bible?

Should I give credit in the novel that all bible quotes are taken from the King James Bible?

KomodoCracker wrote:

• Skoob_ymSkoob_ym ✭✭✭

Well, you're in little danger, since there was no copyright as we know it in 1611. So you're legal.