Obtain Lulu ISBN before uploading PDF?

Hi Lulu community!

I am brand new to this whole deal and working on the final revisions of my book (softcover, 8.5 x 11, full color, retail distribution). I am using the template Lulu provides for this format and on the copyright page, it has a spot for the ISBN. However, going through the wizard, the ISBN is only available (I think) after I finish the cover, which is after I upload the content to create the print-ready PDF.

Can I obtain Lulu's free ISBN prior to uploading for the print-ready version so I can include it in the final PDF?

Thanks!

Comments

• It's easier if you go through the wizard then when it offers you the ISBN copy it then paste it to your document then make a pdf. If you are only selling a pdf you don't need the number because lulu can't sell them outside of this site at least not on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

• Em_PressEm_Press ✭✭
    You do get the ISBN before the upload stage. You will not be offered an ISBN for PDF ebooks. Start a practice project. Play around with it.
  • Thanks!

I put it in as print (I thought) and don't recall the ISBN option coming up. I want to do the softcover, full-color, 8.5 x 11 print book.

Ah Ha!! .... It did it not pop up the option because I chose "Make available only to me?" and not "Sell on Lulu, Amazon, B&N and more"  I changed the option and the ISBN option was the very next screen Smiley Happy

Thanks!

• As a note for anyone reviewing this post:

I bought the ISBN from Bowker for $125. Based on what I found in the discussions here, that seemed to be the best method (as opposed to using Lulu's free ISBN). I did not buy a UPC from Bowker, however, since Lulu supplied the UPC for free using my ISBN.
  • Just a quick note for future projects, you can buy an ISBN directly from us for a little less:

https://www.lulu.com/shop/yourisbn/service/product-yourisbn.html