250-page textbook inner formatting

Hello All,

I am trying to create a 250-page textbook, only for my class and not for wider distribution yet. I am new to this tool and publishing in general, and have read through the Knowledge Base. 

As things stand, I have typed out each chapter in a different Word document (some 2003 version, some 2010). I am trying to get the book ready for publication. Yes, I need the front matter and the back matter too; let's assume I have that too. 

Is the way forward for me to:

1) first apply the downloaded style template to every chapter, make sure each chapter has an even number of pages. Then create a new document with the correct template,  paste everything into one document, set page numbers and define the headings, and auto-generate Table of Contents. Upload 3 separate files - front matter, book body and back matter.

OR

2) leave every chapter (including front and back matter) on its own, formatted within guidelines. Upload several files and let Lulu do the rest. Much easier, but how do Table of Contents and page numbers work. 

OR

3) Enhance (1) above by putting in section breaks for each chapter, to customize headers with the chapter name?

OR

4) Any other suggestions?

1 (and 3) seems tedious and clunky, and 2 will require manual TOC and Page numbers... equally tedious. Any workarounds? Or, since I have to put in the work, is there a better way with similar/ more effort? At a later stage, I want this to also be available in e-book format, etc., so I don't want to take a shortcut that will seriously constrain me later. 

Thanks much,

Sid

Comments

• potetjppotetjp Professor

Hello,

First of all the total number of your pages should be divisible by 4.  You'll have to make it 252 by adding 2 blank pages at the end.

Second, a 252-page book should be a single file, unless it is a very heavy file that has to be divided into two or more sub-files to be converted to PDF and uploaded to Lulu.