Pointers Anyone?

Hi All

I'm new to writing even though I am now in my mid fifties.  I have always wanted to write but, over the years I have either lacked confidence or determination to put pen to paper so to speak.  

So for me to even reach this stage is a huge achievement for me.  Whether my work is poor or good is of no real concern for me at this point.  I am currently experimenting with the ideas that fill my head.

What I am looking for is practical pointers from anyone.  Am I structuring the story in the right way?  Can I improve on the story by expanding the descriptions of the characters and and plot scenarios?

I have included here a section of my story.  So please I welcome all forms of critique.  After all I am on a steep learning curve.

Steven, four years old. Sitting at the top of the stairs, covering his ears, crying.  Wishing that daddy would stop.

Four years old and subjected to the emotional abuse that has scarred him for life.  Yes he remembers too well those early years, and what his father was capable of.

Other than that, Steven was a normal four year old, who attended nursery full time.  He enjoyed being at the nursery, playing with other children and the music.

Steven’s father worked in a colliery and his mother worked in an engineering works.  It was an era of mills and mines. 

He had suffered from convulsions, more or less from birth, and had to take medication to control the seizures.  He was also unfortunate to have a lazy eye. His right eye turned inwards.

At this tender age Steven was unaware what love and hate really was.  How these feelings would converge in on him and meld into one.  The next three years would put paid to that.