Can I sell my book on...

Hi all. During a conversation about which sites my book 'The Moon Thief' will appear on I was asked the question 'Can't you sell the book yourself like on a book stool in a market or on Ebay?' Well; can I? If so, are there any pitfalls or restrictions I need to be aware of?  I probabbly won't undertake the above (if permited) but it's an interesting query all the same.

Regards

scribblesalot.

Comments

• Indeed you can.

As you no doubt know, when you are logged in to your account you can buy your books at Cost price, and there are also small sliding-scale discounts the more you buy. Lulu do not insist on such exclusivity. Many do what you suggest, and even using their own ISBNs.

• Hi Kevin, many thanks for the reply, perhaps I'll give the idea a little more thought. While you're there what's with this leagal stuff, do I need to suplly a W-8BEN as I'm a non US author?

• scribblesalot

You only need to supply a W-8BEN if you don't want the 30 % US withholding tax to be deducted from your royalties.

If you don't supply the W-8BEN, 30 % of your royalties will be deducted as a withholding tax. Most countries have double taxation agreements with various other countries which allow a citizen exemption from tax on revenue which has already been taxed in another territory.

So, for example, if you were in the UK you could ask for credit on the money which has been deducted from you by Lulu when you do your tax return.

Say you earned the equivalent of ten pounds, and three pounds was deducted from you and paid over to the US Government. When you do your tax return you could choose to declare the seven pounds which you received or you could declare the ten pounds you received and ask for credit on the three pounds you have paid in the US.

So, say you had to pay tax at the rate of 20 % in the UK

£ 10 royalties x 20 % tax due             =                      £ 2 due to UK Government