New to Lulu. Need help!!

Hi there, I am completely new to Lulu and have a couple of questions.

I want to self publish a book using the online design tools for the interior and the cover. My questions are mainly related to the costs. 

1) what are the initial costs for publishing the book on Lulu? Do I have to pay for each copy of the book? Or, does Lulu recover the costs through commission when a copy of the book is sold? 

2) related to the above question, do Lulu only manufacture the book when a copy is sold e.g. print on demand? Or do I have to let Lulu know how many copies to manufacture?

3) is it possible to buy copies of my own book at a discount rate, as opposed to the retail price? I understand there are discounts for bulk buying, do these discounts apply to the manufacturing costs or the retail price? 

I would be really grateful if somebody could answer these questions please.

Many thanks, Hamish

Comments

• 1) If you are doing it yourself - there is no charge for publishing, ISBNs, or distribution. If you want to sell your book on retail sites other than Lulu.com, you must purchase and approve a proof copy of your book.

2) Lulu is a print on demand site. There is no inventory. Books are printed when an order is placed.

3) Authors, when logged into their account, can purchase their books at the manufacturing cost (plus tax and shipping). They can also apply coupons and discounts (listed on the Lulu home page) for additional savings.

• Relax. The proof copy of an average soft-bound 6x9" B&W book costs between $10 and $20 VAT and shipping included, and the printing is quite professional. Believe me, you'll be amazed when you receive it. Smiley Happy

• Hi there, I am completely new to Lulu and have a couple of questions.

I want to self publish a book using the online design tools for the interior and the cover.