Quilly Asks About Margins...

... and then hides behind a book because this question is probably asked a lot! Sorry if I'm creating yet another thread for an oft repeated question.

Hello everyone,

Call me Quilly. I'm excited to say that I'm getting ready to jump in here and learn about self-publishing.  

So, yes, that means that I'm quite new to this. I mean, I've been doing a lot of research and reading, but now that I'm trying to put that into actual practice, I've started confusing myself. (I'm pretty good at that. Smiley Happy )

I wonder if anyone can offer my some advice on the proper header and footer, margin and gutter settings for a 200 page book, 8.5x11 Perfect Bound Paperback. I have seen similar posts here, and while they are extremely helpful, they don't quite answer the questions I have right now. This is my first attempt at formatting a book for self-publishing and since it's on behalf of a family member who is working on a limited budget, I would hate to confuse myself, mix things up, and cause extra expense that way. 

I guess what I'm looking for is someone who would be kind enough to double-check my assumptions. Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated, really. The downloadable Word template for 8.5x11 Perfect Bound Paperback has margins and gutter as follows: 

Top: 0.7''

Bottom: 0.7''

Inside: 1''

Outside: 1''

Gutter: 0.3''

Header: 0.6''

Footer: 0.6''

Now, my question isn't about differences between programs at all, but here's where things stand now. I've laid out the book in InDesign and have adjusted that document's settings to match the settings of the Word document. If I was only working with text, I would just move everything to Word, but half the book is taken up with photos, so it's probably easier to just leave things in InDesign and go from there. My plan is to create a PDF from the InDesign document. From what I've seen here so far, that seems to be the right (or perhaps simplest) way to do things, yes?