Writing 101, a tutorial on fiction

Good Afternoon, Folks.

From time to time folks wander in and post who demonstrate little or no skill at writing, so I thought that perhaps some of us who have been writing a while might want to use this thread as a soap box for a discussion on writing in general, with an eye on fiction.

Now, as with anything, fiction is both an art and a science. That is, on the one hand a talented individual with little skill can sometimes write moving and effective prose, and on the other hand a skilled writer with little imagination can sometimes hit the right buttons to get a reaction. Thus, there are some things about fiction that can be taught, and others which must be learned from the soul.

Homer, in the Odyssey, has his old bard remark, "I am self-taught; the Muses have taught me." This dichotomy -- self taught, and yet taught by the muses, inspired -- is precisely what I mean. The ideal writer is both talented and skilled, Muse-schooled and self-taught. An effective writer must be one or the other, at the very least.

Thus, even if you have a talent for writing -- even if words spring into your head like an artesian fountain -- you still need to learn the skills of writing. Don't get me wrong: no amount of wordsmithing will turn a dull story into a best-seller. Many stories need to be taken to the incinerator and committed to the flames, as quickly as possible. Just the other day, I was talking to a friend about a book, and she said that the story caused her to say aloud, in an apostrophe to the person who loaned her the book, "Why did you make me read that! I effing hate you!"

I can only hope that nothing I ever write will inspire the reader to say, "I effing hate you!"

With that said, we should examine what makes for a good book, and some of the pitfalls into which writers are likely to fall.