Joint Authorship

I am a self-published author who’s based in Northern England. Over the last several years, I have released an assortment of literature in both electronic and non-electronic format. During the course of this year, I hope to establish a literary collaboration with a Californian based lady. The intention is to self-publish a sample of our academic work to a particular market niche. You can assume that our contributions would be fairly distinct. It should be clear to the reader who’s written what.

However, before taking this step I would you kindly explain what implications this kind joint authorship would have in the areas:
1) Copyright law
2) Payment of Royalties
3) The setting up of joint accounts
4) Tax payments in America
5) Other legal and technical issues

Also would there also be any differences if we published in electronic or non-electronic form? As this inquiry involves technical matters you are most welcome to take your time before making a response. You will rightly gather that I’m very determined to get things right the first time around.

Comments

• Em_PressEm_Press Professor

Hello,

You can get a copyright certificate in both names. It should cost about $30.

You can add both names to the copyright page, title page and cover of the book.

You can add a second author to one project, and assign royalty splits at 50% each.

The project can only be published in one account. If all the projects in this account are joint, you can both have the password and full control.

You need to fill out the appropriate tax forms, or accept a 30% tax withholding.

Here is the link with more information:

http://connect.lulu.com/t5/Tax-Withholding/Royalties-and-Tax-Withholding/ta-p/33384

A citizen of the world.

• Just KevinJust Kevin Lulu Genius