New publisher. Couple of odd questions for you.

Hi have some questions that might be out of the ordinary.

This is my first time publishing a book and i'm not doing in the traditional way.  What I am doing is making custom graphic novels for individuals. So that means I have already sold the concept of the book to someone before I make and print it for that individual.

Which brings me to my first question. Will Lulu require me to use a ISBN? I am not marketing the book to be sold anywhere else. They are for the individual only.

And my second question. Because I am only doing maybe 1-3 prints of said book will Lulu let me do this? I'm assuming 99% of authors who publish on Lulu are reorders of the book Lulu has already made ready to print on demand. I will be changing it up all the time. Any forseen problems with this?

Thank you very much!

Paul

Comments

• 1. No. ISBNs are always optional unless you intend to use Lulu's distribution networks.

2. Yes. No foreseen problems.
  • If you want only the individual to buy copies whenever they want and no one else, you could set the project to Direct Access and give each one the appropriate link.

• Hi have some questions that might be out of the ordinary.

Not in the least, really.  Smiley Happy

This is my first time publishing a book and i'm not doing in the traditional way.

Self-publishing is not traditional. Smiley Wink

What I am doing is making custom graphic novels for individuals. So that means I have already sold the concept of the book to someone before I make and print it for that individual.

Well in one way that's partly how the self-publishing process starts. You create a file of pages on Word or something and if you use Save As PDF it looks almost like a book on your PC and you can even print it off as a proof to show people. If they are happy, then you use Lulu's wonderful Project Wizards to turn it in to a real bound book.