Using Brewery and Beer Names, in Book of Favorite Beers

I'm finalizing a book which include 50 of my my favorite beers, and 10 breweries I've visited. Can I use the company's name, and put each beer on a page of it's own, using correct legal name of company, name of beer, the ABV, and then my blurb on each beer. No brewery will be mentioned on the cover, and I don't say anything bad about any of them. Basically it's a list of beers to try, and why they're good. Can you see any potential concerns with this approach? Thanks.

Comments

• I Am Not A Lawyer and this is Not Legal Advice.

Of course you can. As long as you don't lie about your experiences, then you are in the right.

Note that (in the US and Canada at least) there is no legal method to avoid getting sued by someone who thinks you aren't in the right. Everyone has the right to bring suit against you (barring extraordinary circumstances) to make you prove that you are in the right.

• I appreciate the feedback!

• More or less all they can copyright are logos, and other registered designs, their name as a unique shape for example, or any word they have made up. They can of course copyright blurb as well, but you are allowed to use short parts of it.

But as said. Those who can afford lawyers can take out a private case against anyone they feel like doing.

• There has been a lot of confusion lately regarding trademarks and copyrights. The bottom line is that they are two entirely different things.

Trademarks, names, logos and even slogans are not subject to copyright. These things have to be trademarked (in the US, copyrights are registered with the Library of Congress, trademarks with the Patent Office). In fact, this is the USCO's own explanation of the difference: "Copyright protects original works of authorship... A trademark protects words, phrases, symbols, or designs identifying the source of the goods or services of one party and distinguishing them from those of others."