Tips on Interior Formatting

I'm totally new at all this, but would like my first book to look really good from a page formatting standpoint. The template downloaded from Lulu for a 6x9 book seems really simplistic. What I am looking for is a tutorial, samples, etc. for how best to set margins, font sizes, header and footer, where to put page numbering, etc.

For example, the Lulu template has 3/4" margins on both sides, whereas books I've looked at in my library tend to have inner margins (binding edge) noticeably narrower than the outer margin, e.g. 3/4" inner, 1" outer.

Another immediate question is regarding font size. Again, the Lulu template is set to 12pt New Times Roman, but comparing a printout I made using this to books that I own, it seems like 11pt would be more like it. What is the best font size to use for a 6x9 trade paperback printed book?

Any other resources that you can point me to would be appreciated. Lulu's tools seem good, but their documentation seems oriented more to just the Lulu uploading and production phases.

Comments

• The inner margins are usually broader in order to avoid the text being lost in the crease.

Look up distribution requirements in knowledgebase. Make sure you follow their minimum requirements. Besides that, you are free to be creative with your formatting.

There are several tutorials for ebooks but I could find none here on print books. However, there are tons on YouTube. Do a quick search and see what you come up with. I recommend you search something more specific that "Book Formatting."

• I'm totally new at all this, but would like my first book to look really good from a page formatting standpoint.

The best way to learn that is to look at many many mass-produced books as you can. Even take a tape measure to them.

The template downloaded from Lulu for a 6x9 book seems really simplistic.