Title Page, Copyright, etc.

I am now working through setting up an ebook to be published using the Lulu EPUB converter. I am new to this process. I am setting up my book in MS Word 2008 for Mac. My question is this. If I were printing this document, I would insert page breaks or possibly section breaks wherever I wanted a new page. Am I to understand, however, that for an ebook, I should simply use H1 or H2 settings wherever I want a new page, as for example between the Title Page and the Copyright page. I have read somewhere in your documentation that page breaks are removed during the conversion process. I would like to insert a page break, if only to see the document as it will be converted, but if that is not acceptable, I will leave it out.

This brings up another issue, the fact that in most print books I have seen, the copyright page has no header, but is rather just all in the same size body type. Is this then a different convention for ebooks, that their copyright page has an H1 header? Or is that just a limitation of the Lulu EPUB converter?

I also am not entirely clear on another point. I understand that I must put the title page in H1, that the Chapter headings are to be H2, and the first subheadings under each Chapter are to be H3. So from that understanding, these questions. I will have an Introduction, possibly a Preface and a Dedication page. Which should each of these be, H1 or H2? I will have Appendices, Endnotes and References. Should each of these also be H2, parallel to chapters?

And finally, I do have a few fourth level headings. Am I to understand that I should NOT key these as H4, possibly marking the titles in Bold at the beginning of a paragraph?

I did try to work through the help materials first, but I was left with these questions after studying the help documents.

Comments

• I'll give you the bottom line. An ebook is very
    different from a print book and you need to think
    about how the end product looks on an ereader and