Copyright Questions

Hi

I am hoping to publish a non fiction scientific book about cinema through this website.  I have two questions about copyright.

A) i have made reference to well known films, directors and actors, all in a positive light.  Will there be any issue with regards copyright using their names?

B) I would like to use a film still (frozen image) as the cover for the book (The Battleship Potemkin.   Released 1925) will there be any issue with using an image as the cover?

Comments

• I am not a lawyer and this is not advice.

Easy answer first: 2.) Yes, there is a problem. 1925 is after 1923. In general, works published after 1923 are probably under copyright in the US. You will need to seek permissions.

As for question #1... that depends. On the one hand, if you say that someone is listening to the SuperCoolKats album "Make You Think Like Lemonade" you're probably okay. If you cite lyrics, even a few words, you're definitely not okay, and need permissions.

If you say that someone just came from the movie "Space Transgressors III; Dawn of Aggression" you're probably okay. If you recreate an ironic version of the scene where Captain Muffin tells the alien to baffle the transducers, you're definitely not okay.

If you say that someone just came from the movie "Space Transgressors III; Dawn of Aggression," and hated it because of the stupid dialog and really dopey plot, you're almost certainly safe, because that's criticism, a recognized fair usage. But that's not 100% either.

The only safe way to know if you need permissions is to contact the copyright holder and ask for permissions.

• Hi

So if i take a still from a film made earlier than 1923 i would be ok to use it as a cover?

Also in response to your second part, an exerpt from the book may read as follows:

----Martin Scorsese in Goodfellas used this kind of cinematography----