How to Create a Color Print Book from pre-existing hard copy w/ text, photos & collage affordabl

Hi, I have a hard copy book (11x17'') (w/photos/collage/illustration as well as text) that i'd like to turn into an 8.5 x 11" full color paper back , probably with the saddle stitch binding, around 35-40 pages long. It exists only as a hard copy - what's the best way to convert this so Lulu can print it? I imagine taking a photo of each pag and turning it into a pdf and then putting the pdf's together into one document?

I have no experience doing this sort of thing. I'd like to spend no more than $10 per book. The other alternative would be just to photocopy it and make it myself - but color photocopies make this more expensive, and so I might just do it b&w, or mostly b&w. to save costs. the book is an accompaniment to a music CD I completed, and is a kickstarter gift that I owe, and I'd like to sell a few more on the side.

Any of you with experience with this sort of thing, thanks for your support!

Jonathan

PS you can see some pages below, thanks!

Comments

• Start by reprinting your PDF as as smaller size, "shrink to fit" in your PDF software. You will have unusual margins to accommodate the size change. But it's way better than manually photocopying all those pages.

Your best option is to take your source file, resize the pages,  resize your images to fit, then print a PDF  that is 8.5 by 11.

• "Start by reprinting your PDF as as smaller size, "shrink to fit" in your PDF software." - Hi Maggie, what do you mean by this? Forgive my ignorance, but how do I get my hard copy into PDF - by photographing each page, I imagine? Any tips on the best wayto do that? And then - I have a Mac - use iphoto to create pdf's? THanks for telling me, I have no idea how to do this!!

Jonathan