Printing a color map inside the cover page

Hi, this is my first time using Lulu's services, and I noticed fairly limiting, though common, options.

I am preparing to print a book through you, and would like to include a color map on the inside of the cover when it is first opened (such as one that spans the entire "end paper" in the front of the book.

I understand this is more of a specialty request, and was wondering if it is possible and what kind of pricing that might entail. The rest of the book is B&W.

Thanks.

Comments

• At this time, we are unable to print inside book covers.

I am not aware of another print on demand service that can do this type of work, but maybe someone in the community can point you in the right direction.

• Ok, thank you for that information.

In which case, is it possible to include 1 color page in an otherwise B&W book? If so, can this page be full bleed or will there need to be a margin on it?

Thanks.

• You are asking all the right questions!

Currently if you want a book to include color, the entire book must be printed on color paper, which can be quite expensive for a novel.

We are working with one of our print vendors to provide color inserts, but I cannot provide any estimate for when this would be available.

• For the moment, you can only include a black-and-white map spread over two pages facing each other (even + odd), and placed after the copyright page or anywhere else inside the book.

Maps do not look too bad in black and white. See pages 16-17 in my:

http://www.lulu.com/shop/jean-paul-g-potet/arabic-and-persian-loanwords-in-tagalog/paperback/product-21079884.html

• Colour inserts in an otherwise B&W book would a wonderful addition to Llulu's services.

James
  • Indeed
  • Indeed, many books, even novels, have B & W maps within them and look nontheworse for it. Usually they are just line drawings because at times they don't look well in many shades of grey.

Here's an example >>  image